Photo by  Daniela Constantini

 

 

WE LOVE COFFEE!

 

Hola & Hoi, we are Cristian & Debora. We would like to bring you closer to the aromatic world of specialty coffee and tell you what really matters when it comes to coffee consumption.

Thanks to Colombia, we both discovered our love for coffee. Latin America is our second home, so we started looking for the best coffee beans there in 2016. In the meantime we have established good relationships with fantastic farmers and better and better coffees are ending up in our roastery.  

Debora is a graphic designer and has a good nose. She connects with  Ojo de Café good design with enjoyment.  

 

Cristian comes from international sales, studied political science and economics. He realized what an impact coffee has on the lives of millions of coffee producers. And that we can change the world with every cup of coffee.

Debora

CO-FOUNDER | COMMUNICATION | DESIGN | SALES (DE/EN)

 

Cristian

CO-FOUNDER | ROASTER | SALES (FR/IT/SP/EN)



ETHICAL & EGALITARY

 

You too can change the world a little with every cup of coffee. Which coffee you choose is in your hands.

Today only about 10% of the sales price of coffee remains in the country of origin. The market price for coffee is often below production costs, and the low fair trade bonus is not at all enough. That is why we trade with our farmers directly and in an egalitarian way. We pay you about three to six times what they would have made in the Fairtrade market.

 

About 75% of the global trade in green coffee is traded through Switzerland. We're just a little fish ourselves, but we want to show that there is another way.



SIP IT SLOWLY

You don't need an expensive machine for good coffee at home. With an moka pot, french press and hand filter, everyone can brew excellent coffee. All you need to do is choose the right coffee for your type of preparation. And a few tips and tricks for preparing and storing coffee. We would be happy to advise you in our store which brewing method and which coffee best suit your taste.

We think that coffee should be drunk more consciously, in a higher quality and therefore less. Because coffee is much more than a caffeine kick. There is a hardworking farmer and a passionate roaster behind it. And coffee contains more than 800 different flavors.  

 

Give them time to develop.  Sip it slowly.



APPRECIATION

We want to show the coffee producers more appreciation. We motivate them to use improved and new post-harvest processes so that they can achieve higher prices for their coffee. We would like to tell you the background of the origin of coffee and personal stories of the farmers.  

In the search for an excellent result in the cup, we value fairness, friendship and transparency in every aspect. Because coffee is worth gold to us.



SUSTAINABILITY

 

  • Our producers grow their coffee ecologically and in mixed cultivation. Labels are not important to us because a lot of producers are too small for that. 

  • Most of the time, our producers have few machines, so they do the work by hand like they always did.

  • Our packaging is free of aluminum and completely recyclable. The bags cannot be returned everywhere at the moment, about a year from now, there will be the possibility in every community in Switzerland. You are welcome to return the bags to us and we will take care of the recycling.

  • All of our printed matter is printed on recycled paper and cardboard (except for a few gold stickers ;)

  • We send climate neutral.

  • Our shop has been built ecologically.

  • We also sell the coffees openly in the store.

What can you do to make coffee consumption more sustainable? Coffee is a product with high CO² and water consumption. So it's better to drink less coffee. But the right one.

 

 



TRANSPARENCY

The price we pay our farmers is published on our website. We communicate transparently and honestly. Because transparency is the first step towards doing business better or differently.  

 

Write to us if you have any questions, praise or criticism.

Foto by  Daniela Constantini

 

 

WIR LIEBEN KAFFEE!

 

Hola & Hoi, wir sind Cristian & Debora. Wir möchten dir die aromatische Welt des Specialty Coffee näherbringen und erzählen, worauf es beim Kaffeekonsum wirklich ankommt.

Beide haben wir dank Kolumbien die Liebe zum Kaffee entdeckt. Lateinamerika ist unsere zweite Heimat, also haben wir 2016 angefangen, dort nach den besten Kaffeebohnen zu suchen. Mittlerweile haben wir gute Beziehungen mit fantastischen Bauern aufgebaut und es landen immer bessere Kaffees in unserer Rösterei. 

Debora ist Grafikerin und hat einen guten Riecher. Sie verbindet bei  Ojo de Café gutes Design mit Genuss. 

 

Cristian kommt aus dem internationalen Handel, hat Politikwissenschaften und Wirtschaft studiert. Er hat realisiert, was Kaffee für einen Einfluss auf das Leben von Millionen von Kaffeeproduzierenden hat. Und dass wir mit jeder Tasse Kaffee die Welt verändern können.

Debora

CO-FOUNDER | KOMMUNIKATION | DESIGN | SALES

 

Cristian

CO-FOUNDER | RÖSTER



ETHISCH & EGALITÄR

 

Auch du kannst mit jeder Tasse Kaffee die Welt ein Stück verändern. Für welchen Kaffee du dich entscheidest, liegt in deinen Händen.

Heute bleiben vom Verkaufspreis von Kaffee nur etwa 10% im Ursprungsland. Der Börsenpreis für Kaffee liegt oft unter den Produktionskosten, die niedrige Fairtradeprämie reicht bei weitem nicht aus. Deshalb handeln wir mit unseren Bauern direkt und egalitär. Wir bezahlen Ihnen etwa das drei- bis sechsfache dessen, was sie auf dem Fairtrade-Markt erzielt hätten.

 

Ungefähr 75% des weltweiten Handels mit Rohkaffee wird über die Schweiz abgewickelt. Wir selbst sind nur ein kleiner Fisch, möchten aber zeigen, dass es auch anders geht.



SIP IT SLOWLY

Du brauchst keine teure Maschine für guten Kaffee zuhause. Mit Espressokanne, Stempelkanne und Handfilter können alle hervorragenden Kaffee zaubern. Dazu brauchst du nur die richtige Kaffeewahl für deine Zubereitungsart. Und ein paar Tipps und Tricks für die Zubereitung und Lagerung von Kaffee. Wir beraten dich gerne bei uns im Laden, welche Brühmethode und welcher Kaffee am besten zu deinem Geschmack passen.

Wir finden, Kaffee sollte bewusster, in höherer Qualität und dafür weniger getrunken werden. Denn Kaffee ist viel mehr als ein Koffeinkick. Es steht eine hartarbeitende Bäuerin und ein passionierter Röster dahinter. Und es stecken mehr als 800 verschiedene Aromen im Kaffee. 

 

Gib ihnen Zeit, sich zu entfalten. Sip it slowly.



WERTSCHÄTZUNG

Wir möchten den Kaffeeproduzierenden mehr Wertschätzung entgegen bringen. Wir motivieren sie zu verbesserten und neuen Nachernteprozessen, damit sie für ihren Kaffee höhere Preise erzielen. Dir möchten wir Hintergründe vom Ursprung des Kaffees und persönliche Geschichten der Bauern erzählen. 

Auf der Suche nach einem exzellenten Ergebnis in der Tasse legen wir in jeder Beziehung Wert auf Fairness, Freundschaft und Transparenz. Denn Kaffee ist uns Gold wert.



NACHHALTIGKEIT

 

  • Unsere Produzenten bauen ihren Kaffee ökologisch und in Mischkulturen an. Labels sind für uns nicht entscheidend, da die meisten Produzenten dafür zu klein sind. 

  • Meist verfügen unsere Produzenten über wenig Maschinen, machen also die Arbeit wie früher von Hand.

  • Unsere Verpackungen sind frei von Alu und komplett rezyklierbar.

  • Alle unsere Drucksachen sind auf Recyclingpapier- und Karton gedruckt (ausser ein paar Goldkleberli ;)

  • Wir verschicken klimaneutral.

  • Unser Ladenlokal wurde ökologisch ausgebaut.

  • Im Laden verkaufen wir die Kaffees auch offen.

Was kannst du tun für nachhaltigeren Kaffeekonsum? Kaffee ist ein Produkt mit hohem CO²- und Wasserverbrauch. Trink also lieber weniger Kaffee. Dafür den Richtigen.

 

 



TRANSPARENZ

Der Preis, den wir unseren Bauern bezahlen, ist auf unserer Website publiziert. Wir kommunizieren transparent und ehrlich. Denn Transparenz ist der erste Schritt, besser oder eben anders zu wirtschaften. 

 

Schreib uns, wenn du Fragen, Lob oder Kritik hast.